Four African Nations Vie for Prestigious AUC Position: Seychelles Enters Race Alongside Kenya, Somalia, and Djibouti

Vincent Meriton of Seychelles will compete against Raila Odinga of Kenya, Mahmoud Ali Youssouf of Djibouti, and Fawzia Yusuf Adam of Somalia for the African Union Commission (AUC) Chairperson position, currently held by Moussa Faki since March 2017.

Seychelles joins Kenya, Somalia, and Djibouti in the race for the AUC Chairperson position, making it the fourth country from the Eastern Africa region to announce its candidacy.

The Seychelles government officially endorsed Vincent Meriton for the AUC Chairperson position, citing his previous experience as Minister of Foreign Affairs, Health, Information Technology, the Blue Economy, and Entrepreneurship.

This development adds a layer of complexity to President William Ruto’s efforts to gather regional support for Raila Odinga’s candidacy, with Kenya already backed by Uganda and Rwanda.

The Eastern Africa region, including Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Mauritius, South Sudan, Sudan, and Tanzania, has the right to nominate the next AUC Chairperson, according to a unanimous decision by the African Union on March 25.

This decision followed institutional reforms initiated in November 2018 to increase transparency and fairness in the leadership selection process, with a focus on regional representation, gender equality, and attracting diverse talent from across Africa.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More