Al Shabaab insurgents capture five towns in Somalia

Al Shabaab Insurgents Capture Five Towns In Somalia

On Wednesday, August 30, 2023, it was reported by Somali Guardian that pro-government forces in Somalia have withdrawn from five towns in the country’s central region. This decision came after a violent attack carried out by members of the extremist group, al Shabaab. The towns of Wabho, Osweyne, Budbud, Gal’ad and Masagaway, all located in Galmudug Administration, were abandoned by the army on Monday.

According to the media outlet, the attack over the weekend resulted in the tragic deaths of 178 Somali soldiers at the hands of al Shabaab militants. However, there is no available information regarding the losses suffered by the militants themselves.

- Advertisement -

Al Shabaab originated in Somalia back in 2004. By 2010, the group had gained control over expansive territories. However, they were eventually forced to retreat from Mogadishu in the summer of 2011, opting to wage a guerrilla war against the Somali government and its allies. In February 2012, a leader of al Shabaab publicly declared their affiliation with Al Qaeda, an organization banned in Russia (as reported by TASS).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept